eNews Sign-Up!

Edit Profile  
Sign-up to receive our quarterly e-newsletter full of healthy advice.

About Us

Governance and Leadership

Servant leadership, the concept of serving the patient or serving those who do, is deeply embedded in the culture of Summa Health System and is the cornerstone of our mission, vision and values. This is what differentiates Summa Health System from others. Every employee is a servant leader, beginning with the executive leadership team.

Thomas Strauss
President and Chief Executive Officer

Kyle Barr
Senior Vice President, Human Resources

Thomas DeBord 
President, Summa Barberton Hospital and Summa Wadsworth-Rittman Hospital

Brian Derrick
System Vice President, Chief Financial Officer

Phylis Ferrara 
President and Chief Development Officer, Summa Foundation

Martin Hauser 
President, SummaCare

Gregory Kall
Senior Vice President, Chief Information Officer

Robert Kent, D.O.
Chief Executive Officer, Summa Western Reserve Hospital

Unhee Kim, R.N.
Senior Vice President, Service Lines and Ancillary Services

Patrice Lange 
Senior Vice President, Planning and Corporate Support

Thomas Malone, M.D.
President, Summa Akron City and St. Thomas Hospitals

William Powel, III
Senior Vice President, Legal Services

Erik Steele, D.O.
Chief Medical Officer, Summa Health System

Ronald Suntken, Ed.D.
President and Chief Executive Officer, Crystal Clinic Orthopaedic Center

Mark Terpylak, D.O., FACOG
President, NewHealth Collaborative

Lanie Ward, R.N.
Senior Vice President, Chief Nursing Officer

Claude Vincenti
President, Integrated Solutions, Summa Insurance Company, SummaCare

Jay Williamson, M.D.
President and Chief Medical Officer, Summa Physicians Inc. 

Joseph Zarconi, M.D.
System Vice President, Medical Education, Chief Academic Officer

The System Board of Directors is responsible for guiding Summa’s long-term success while maintaining a constant focus on clinical quality and the improved health of the populations we serve.

Each director is chosen based on his/her background, experience, skills and commitment to the mission of Summa Health System. 

Members of the current board of directors include:

  • Norman Wells, Jr., Chair
  • James McIlvaine, Vice Chair
  • Thomas Strauss, President and CEO
  • Nicholas Browning
  • Daryl Cameron
  • James Gravell
  • Michael Hughes, M.D.
  • James Kravec, M.D.
  • Anthony Lockhart
  • Richard Marsh
  • Theresa Proenza
  • Brian Smith
  • R. Douglas Trochelman, M.D.
  • Leila Vespoli
  • Vivian von Gruenigen, M.D. 

For a complete listing of all entity boards, please see the Summa Health System 2012 annual report.


  • Summa Health System © 2014 | All Rights Reserved | 525 East Market Street, Akron, Ohio 44304 | (888) 905-6071