Skip to main content.


Summa Health and its entities are governed by various boards. Following is a listing of the boards and members. 

Summa Health Board of Directors

As Summa Health’s primary governing body, the Summa Health Board of Directors is responsible for setting Summa Health’s mission and vision as well as overseeing the work of Summa Health’s various subsidiary boards.

  • George Strickler, Chair
  • Nicholas Browning, Vice Chair
  • Cliff Deveny, M.D., President & CEO
  • Peter Bittenbender, M.D.
  • Barbara Faciana
  • Lynn Hamrich, M.D.
  • Ramona Hood
  • Orry Jacobs
  • Steven Gorsuch, MD
  • Randy Langenderfer
  • Edward Marx
  • Almeta Cooper
  • Kathleen Geier

SummaCare Board of Directors

The SummaCare Board of Directors is responsible for Summa Health's insurance plan, which is an integral and value-adding component of Summa Health's approach and overarching strategy for population health.

  • Leigh Gerstenberger, Chair
  • Frank Carrino
  • Lydia Cook, M.D.
  • Cliff Deveny, M.D.
  • William Epling
  • Russell Mohawk
  • Caroline Pearson
  • Mark Sims
  • George Strickler
  • Benjamin Sutton
  • Rajiv Taliwal, M.D.
  • David Felicio

NewHealth Collaborative Board of Directors

NewHealth Collaborative is an accountable care organization (ACO) led by physicians to deliver compassionate care in a value- and evidence-based manner. The NewHealth Collaborative Board of Directors is responsible for setting the ACO’s strategic direction and guiding operational oversight as it continues to grow and develop.


  • Christian Cook, D.O. 
  • Sameer Mahesh, M.D.
  • T. Clifford Deveny, M.D.
  • William C. Epling, President
  • Paul Coleman, M.D.
  • Maria Alejandra Schiaffino, M.D.
  • Melissa Soltis, M.D.
  • Vivek Bhalla, M.D.
  • Gary Cook, M.D.
  • Jeffrey Bachtel, M.D.
  • Stacey Hollaway, M.D.
  • Mark Hostettler, M.D. 

Summa Foundation Board of Directors

Summa Foundation supports patient care, research and medical education through philanthropy. The Summa Foundation Board of Directors has oversight of all philanthropic efforts across Summa Health.

  • Julia Rea Bianchi, Chair
  • Gary B. Williams, M.D., Vice Chair
  • T. Clifford Deveny, M.D., Chief Executive Officer
  • Jessica Hudson, President & Chief Development Officer
  • Patricia Wartko, Secretary
  • Tom Knoll, Treasurer
  • Robert A. Gerberry, Assistant Secretary
  • Dawn D. Ahner, Assistant Treasurer
  • William Bauman, M.D.
  • Nancy Brennan
  • Karen Budd, Ph.D., RN
  • Jason Butterworth
  • Betsy Clark
  • Steven Cox
  • Kay Franks
  • Iris Harvey
  • Mary Ann Jackson
  • Barbara Jones
  • Margaret Lee
  • Ginger Marchetta
  • Patrick O’Neill
  • Jonathan Pavloff
  • Charles Peter, M.D.
  • George Schmutz
  • Dominic Wright

Options to Request an Appointment

If your situation is an emergency, call 911.